Help me program my phone number back into my cell phone

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by ace peterson, May 10, 2002.

  1. ace peterson

    ace peterson Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2001
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Anyone around know how to program a number back into a cell phone? Yesterday my phone got wet and my number was wiped out. I can take it into the store in a few days when I have more time, but I thought I may get some useful help here. It is an Audiovox Airtouch phone. Everything else is still in the memory (other numbers, names, etc.) Can anyone tell me how to do it?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Dave Poehlman

    Dave Poehlman Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2000
    Messages:
    3,813
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Do you know what the model is, ACE?

    Or, if you could tell me what the top row and bottom row of your phone's keypad are, I can cross reference it.

    (I work for a cell phone company.. I have a utility here)
     
  3. ace peterson

    ace peterson Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2001
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Dave-

    Model# CDM4500 by Audiovox. Sorry I couldn't post it yesterday. Thanks for your help.

    Ace
     
  4. DougRuss

    DougRuss Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2001
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  5. ace peterson

    ace peterson Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2001
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Doug,

    Yeah, I have the manual. It doesn't tell you how to do it in there, unfortunately. I guess they don't want people messing around with their phone numbers...
     
  6. Dave Poehlman

    Dave Poehlman Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2000
    Messages:
    3,813
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sorry, I wasn't able to post over the weekend.. so, if you still don't have it programmed... here you go:

    Program Sequence:

    Power On

    Enter Access Code:

    289 + Right Arrow + # + 1

    "NAM1 Setting?" displays

    Press right arrow

    Normal: (10 digit mobile #) + Down Arrow

    Press SEND To Write NAM and Exit Program Mode
     
  7. ace peterson

    ace peterson Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2001
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks dave! Good timing. I'll give it a try tonight.

    Ace
     
  8. ace peterson

    ace peterson Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2001
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Dave-

    It didnt work. I got into the program mode OK but...

    After I entered the NAM setting (10 digit number), it asked my for SID. This just listed 00000. Should I be putting something there?

    When I turn it on, it says telephone number .

    Then displays an 'error 02' message. I tried calling verizon support and they didn't even tell me as much as you already have. They said I dropped it and I need a new phone. Not true. It got wet is all.
     
  9. Ryan Wright

    Ryan Wright Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2000
    Messages:
    1,875
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Don't you love how the idiots at the support line always seem to know more than you?
    "Look, the phone got wet, and now it's doing this."
    "No, no, you must have dropped it."
    "Dude, it's my phone, and I'm telling you, I didn't drop it. It simply got wet."
    "That's not possible. You dropped it. You need a new one."
    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
    You just want to beat them. Really, do they have some crystal ball where they see everything exactly like it didn't happen? What's wrong with these people?!
     

Share This Page