What's new

Hello - Big Screen Questions (1 Viewer)

DustinTaj

Stunt Coordinator
Real Name
Dustin
Hello. This is my first time posting. I've been a long-time lurker and have gotten a lot of information from the site, but this is the first time I've posted. I finally decided to join. So, hello to all.

I'm actually writing to get some information on Big Screen TV's. I wanted to ask you guys, because I consider you all to be more knowledgeable than the average consumer, and I'd feel much better getting advice from you all. I could spend days researching something before I feel like I know everything there is to know about it and feel comfortable making a decision, but I don't feel like taking all that time right now. So, I'm starting with the experts.

I am going to buy a big screen HDTV. 16:9, and as future-ready as possible. I have a budget of under $3,000 (and less if possible). I'd prefer a 61" or bigger size. I was wanting to know if you could point me in the right direction as far as reviews, "the best for your buck," or similar information.

This TV will finish my Home Theater system. For my audio system, which I created nearly 4 years ago, I presently have:
Polk RS2000p Main speakers
Polk CS400 center channel
Polk F/X500 bipole/dipole rear channels
SVS 20-39 PC+ subwoofer (just got this in Aug. '03).
Onkyo TX-DS 676 receiver
Toshiba SD4109x DVD player (which will be upgraded eventually to something with progressive scan)

My "home theater" is in my living room, which has vaulted ceilings, a loft, and is very good at limiting the amount of reflected sound. To be honest, the stereo sounds awesome. My friends can't believe how well it sounds (it didn't sound 1/2 this good in the small apartment I used to live in). I'm wanting a big TV to finish off the project. I want the best I can get for the money I have to spend (which is how I came to purchase the SVS subwoofer after reading all of your recommendations on it).