What's new

Hello All. I'm new here, and I have a problem with my new wega's auto 16:9 (1 Viewer)

Hello all,
First off, I would like to say that this is perhaps one of the best resources for this hobby anywhere. I have been browsing for a few months and finally signed up. I hope to be able to help you guys when I can and look forward to some great threads. Anyhow, here is my problem, as if you could have a wega without one. I have a modest setup but it's the best I can get while still in college. I rust picked up a KV32-FV300 and a DVP-NS755V DVD player. The TV set is supposed to do the auto 16:9 squeeze when the DVD player is set to 16:9. Well, I did this. And when the tv sees the signal, it does the auto squeeze, but winds up having seizures flipping back and forth. stretching, then squeezing, stretching then squeezing. Sometimes it only freaks out a few seconds on some DVD's. Other's play more erraticly. The only way to make the squueze mode behave itself indefinately is by switching the 16:9 menu item to ON. But it does not hold once you switch inputs, and besides, not all my discs are WS anyway. Anybody else having this problem with their auto 16:9 feature? Other than that, the geometry is good (not perfect) But messing with avia has helped. Thanks for your replies!!

Michael TLV

THX Video Instructor/Calibrator
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Michael Chen
Greetings

Does this happen on all 16:9 discs or only some? Could be DVD encoding at times that throws the TV off kilter. Bad flags sometimes do this.

Regards