HDMI input dead on TV -- will replacing it change my grayscale?

Discussion in 'Displays' started by Dave H, Nov 23, 2005.

  1. Dave H

    Dave H Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,579
    Likes Received:
    208
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Just curious --- my HDMI input is no longer working. If they replace it, will this affect my grayscale and covergence calibration?
     
  2. ChrisWiggles

    ChrisWiggles Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    4,791
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    it probably shouldn't, unless they do things with the settings. It's a digital connection, so there aren't issues of precision differences between input circuitry as there would be with analog inputs being changed. Just make sure they don't mess with any settings or anything.
     
  3. Michael TLV

    Michael TLV THX Video Instructor/Calibrator

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2000
    Messages:
    2,909
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta
    Real Name:
    Michael Chen
    Greetings

    Theory says no ... but the wandering hands of the repairman may have something else to say.

    They may take it upon themselves to fix your grayscale but good. [​IMG]

    Regards
     
  4. ChrisWiggles

    ChrisWiggles Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    4,791
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yes, dont' we all just LOVE the wandering hands of repairmen! [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  5. Dave H

    Dave H Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,579
    Likes Received:
    208
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Well, guess what? Now it works.

    I simply switched the HMDI cable around to the opposite end and now it works!

    Is there a good reason for this? I didn't think it mattered which end of the cord you use. Weird.

    Oh, if I have to ever have someone about it, I will make it very clear to the tech! [​IMG]
     

Share This Page