What's new

HD over AIR (1 Viewer)

JTOUPS

Auditioning
Real Name
JOHN
I may have a dumb question, but I'm new to HD. I just recently purchased an LCD with HD & built in tuner. There is two cable connections on the back of the TV: Regular cable & HD over air. What exactly do you plug into the HD over air connection? And what do you get from that?

Right now I just have my standard digital cable plugged into the cable connection on the TV.

Thanks for your help :emoji_thumbsup:

RAF

Senior HTF Member
Deceased Member
Let me jump in here with a little bit of information.

HD is broadcast over the air in many major cities (just like in the old days - and current days for some - of pre-cable/sat/etc.). If you are fortunate enough to be in an area with a strong HD airborne signal you can add an antenna and receive these broadcasts in HD in addition to those available from your cable/sat provider. In certain cases, you can even receive some HD stations that your cable/sat provider doesn't carry, or you can get a better signal over the air (OTA).

I personally haven't done any of this for two reasons. For one, I live in a "fringe" OTA reception area and for another, I don't wish to place a big antenna on my roof. It came down over a quarter century ago and I have no desire to go through all that again. Hopefully some others with OTA HD experience will chime in here with suggestions regarding antenna types, etc. I do know that if you live in a strong signal area that it is possible to avoid the outside roof mounted antenna by using a crawl space, etc. since several people have mentioned this.

Carlo_M

Senior HTF Member
I have OTA HD and HD over cable. All you need (since you have the tuner) is an antenna. I didn't have a built in HD tuner on my sets so I bought (a couple of years ago) a Samsung and a Sylvania OTA HD tuner (for 2 TVs). Recently my cable company became TWC and I also added the HD DVR package to get HD channels you can't get OTA.