What's new

Enclosure Design Help (1 Viewer)

Chris Eriksen

Stunt Coordinator
Hello Everyone,
I am hoping you can help me with a DIY sub enclosure for my home theater. I have a lot of experience designing and building exotic sub enclosures for car audio, so the fabrication will not be a problem. However, car audio applications rely heavily on cabin gain, so my design plans may be a bit suspect. :) Any recommendations will be greatly appreciated.
I already have the driver and the amp, as well as a Behringer Feedback Destroyer. The sub amp is a Hafler 9290, which produces approximately 500 watts rms into a single 4 ohm load. The sub is a Cerwin Vega XL-18S, a high-efficiency lightweight paper-cone driver that was originally aimed at the car audio market. Here are the T-S parameters on this 18" sub:
Imp. 3.5l
Fs 28
Qes 0.173
Qms 5.249
Qts 0.167
Vas 7.31 cu ft
Xmax 0.33"
PE 500 watts rms
SPL 96 dB @ 1w/1m

My oddly-shaped HT room is on the large size, with a length of 27', a ceiling height of 11', and a width of 10-15', depending on the location. A drawing of the room is located HERE . Please ignore the speaker locations, as these have changed. The primary seating area has now been moved back to a line that extends between the green blocks.
My design goals are as follows: Deep bass extension and good transient response (for an 18" sub) in an enclosure of less than 6 cubic feet. This sub will be used for HT only, as my mains have a useable in-room response to below 40 Hz.
Here is where I become uncertian. From my preliminary calculations, I am considering a 5.3 cubic foot vented enclosure, tuned to 18 Hz. Should this enclosure yield my desired results? Or am I barking up the wrong tree? Please let me know if I am overlooking something, or if anyone has suggestions for a better design.
Thank you in advance,
Chris Eriksen

James W. Johnson

Screenwriter