What's new

DVI vs IEEE1394 - Any Recievers or Pre/Pros do both? (1 Viewer)

Paul Fa

Stunt Coordinator
Even with the recent anouncements in the media about some consolidation of interconnect standards for HDTV, (See posts at http://www.hometheaterforum.com/htfo...&highlight=DVI ), it seems as though the dust may never settle!:frowning:
As some of you may have noticed from my previous posts I have been researching a new receiver or separates purchase for about 6 months or so. I thought I might lean towards a middle-of-the-road purchase that would hopefully not be too obsolete for at least a few if not 5 years or so. I was considering the Denon 3803 or perhaps the Pioneer 45tx.
As I may be able to upgrade to a HD capable TV (Plasma/LCD most likely) within the above mentioned time frame - I am now curious as to whether I either need to wait, or spend more to allow for the use of either DVI or Firewire, or even better - both on one receiver or pre-pro. What's your opinion? Do any units do both today? I would think having both options would be the best in these unsettled times!:)

Marty Neudel

Stunt Coordinator
Paul,

The most honest guarantee of future-proofing you can get is NONE. Even the manufacturers of the most flexibly upgradable units (i.e. Lexicon MC-12, Mark Levinson #30) will not speculate on how long their current units will continue to be viable.

You can be sure that any unit you buy today will, featurewise, be obsolete in 5 years. Rather than concentrating on the products with the most features and functions (all of which go obsolete rather quickly), you may want to consider spending your money on the unit that sounds better than the others in its class. You will then be able to enjoy its performance for many years to come.

Marty

Paul Fa

Stunt Coordinator