What's new

DVD AFICIONADO changes counting system -- BOOO!!! (1 Viewer)

Adam_WM

Screenwriter
Real Name
Adam Moreau
To the members of HTF,

I have never tried to start something like this before, so here goes. I know many of us use DVD AFICIONADO to keep track of our DVD collections (PS I don't want this be a thread about why DVDAF isn't good, so keep it on track). I noticed today that they have changed their counting system. Previously, your collection read something like "X Listings, Y Titles". This is to cover the fact that many of the listings have more than 1 title. For example, THE DIE HARD TRILOGY has 3 movies in it (3 titles). On the old system, this would read as "1 listing, 3 titles". Now, it simply reads "1 listing". This isn't a fair depiction of our collections. I have almost 400 movies, but many of them came in box sets, and now, DVDAF says I only have a little over 350.

Hopefully, some of you think we should go back to the old counting system. If you want DVDAF to go back, drop them a line, [email protected]. Who knows? If enough people write in, they might change back. Let me know what you guys think about this.

Eric Emma

Supporting Actor
Real Name
Eric H. Emma
Not to be negative but does it really matter. I use DVDAF to keep track of my DVDs and show other people what I have. Unless I want brag that I have X-number of movies.

Kyle McKnight

Senior HTF Member
Some people just like to keep track of how many different movies they have. What gets me is the people that say "I have X number of DVDs" that are actually counting the discs. So 2 disc SEs count as 2 DVDs...TV box sets really bump that number up for people.

StephanieC

Stunt Coordinator
I actually like it. The actual number of discs isn't really important to me, as long as they keep their all-around format I'm happy.

Adam_WM

Screenwriter
Real Name
Adam Moreau
I'm not talking about actual number of discs, I'm talking about actual number of movie titles.

Tom Tsai

Supporting Actor