Dolby Digital Processors, Can I get some help with em'?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by NathanP, Sep 23, 2001.

  1. NathanP

    NathanP Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    841
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi, I'm looking at this Dolby Digital 5.1 processor to add on to one of my systems..
    Here it is.. http://cgi.ebay.com/aw-cgi/eBayISAPI...tem=1277275323
    Thing is, I'm pretty sure you need a Dolby Digital ready reciever..
    The system I want to add this to is 4 channels with a pro-logic processor add-on
    And it has no Ac-3 or Dolby Digital RF connections..
    So, what can I do?
    I really want Dolby Digital without having to buy a new amp..
    Is there any special cable I can buy that will let me use this?
    Please,
    Any help or suggestion will be gladly appreciated.
    Nathan
    ------------------
    "Fascinating Captian"
    --Spock
    Visit www.speedemenu.com
     
  2. Luke_Y

    Luke_Y Second Unit

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2001
    Messages:
    424
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    To use that unit with your receiver you need to have 5.1 inputs. It is made for "DD ready" receivers or amps.
    ------------------
    Luke
     
  3. NathanP

    NathanP Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    841
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Anyone else????
    Pleeeeaaaase!
    How can I get DD 5.1 without having to buy another amp???
    I don't have 5.1 inputs..
    Nathan
    ------------------
    "Fascinating Captian"
    --Spock
    Visit www.speedemenu.com
     
  4. James Q Jenkins

    James Q Jenkins Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2000
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I remember reading earlier this week (Sunday?) someone post a link to a Dolby Digital receiver for $120. I think it was refurbished from www.pioneerdirect.com . Not sure. Look around. It doesn't cost much to get a new receiver if you shop around.
    ------------------
    -JQJ
     
  5. Michael Reuben

    Michael Reuben Studio Mogul

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 1998
    Messages:
    21,763
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    5,110
    quote: How can I get DD 5.1 without having to buy another amp???[/quote] You can't. DD 5.1 requires six separate channels (or five with a separately powered subwoofer), and you only have four. You don't have the right inputs, and you don't have enough amplification.
    You have three choices:
    1. Buy a separate DD processor, a separate monoblock amp, a powered subwoofer, and a bunch of interconnects (and even then, it might not work; it sounds like your system's connections may be maxed out); or
    2. Same as (1), only you get a DVD player with built-in DD 5.1 decoding; or
    2. Buy a new receiver.
    With today's prices, option (3) will probably be the cheapest by far.
    M.
    [Edited last by Michael Reuben on September 25, 2001 at 09:10 AM]
     
  6. JerryW

    JerryW Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2001
    Messages:
    640
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    $119 + S&H
    http://www.pioneerdirect.com/product...item=VSXD498/B
    seems like a good deal.
    ------------------
    September 11, 2001
    "Those who died will always be remembered.
    Those who killed will never be forgotten.
    We who remain will not let it happen again."
    [Edited last by JerryW on September 25, 2001 at 09:27 AM]
     
  7. NathanP

    NathanP Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    841
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Alright..
    That's what I thought,
    I just wanted to upgrade my secondary system without purchasing a new amp...
    Thanks,
    Nathan
    ------------------
    "Fascinating Captian"
    --Spock
    Visit www.speedemenu.com
     

Share This Page