What's new

DefTech 7002 questions... (1 Viewer)

StewartG

Auditioning
Real Name
Stewart
I'm finally upgrading all the speakers in my HT setup!

Been auditioning several products. Currently have SM 350s right and left, CLR 2300 center, BPA inwalls for surrounds (HSU VTF-3 HO subwoofer arrives on Thursday!)

I went with the SM350s because the wife wanted bookshelf speakers. The CLR2300 really overpowered the SM 350s. Finally got clearance from the wife to get towers today!

I'm thinking about going to 7002 left and right and the clr 2500 to match the 5.25 inch mid drivers. I think this should sound GREAT. I'm going to try and set up an audition, but I'm new to bipolar speakers, so I have a couple of quick questions:

1. How will this setup do with two channel music? I like to listen to my music the "old fashioned" way (two channel right and left speakers only).

2. I've read some reviews that indicate these speakers are very touchy about placement. Anyone have any feedback/experience/opinions about this issue? Because of room set up and wife factors, I may not have much flexibility.

Arthur S

Senior HTF Member
Hi Stewart

Happy New Year

I have auditioned a few bipolar speakers. The best are the flat panels such as Magnapan. The best have true ribbon tweeter. May cost even more than 7002, however, are true high end and for stereo they are just about the best bipolar available. WAF may be a problem, however, with HSU VTF-3HO, 7002 is a major waste of bass from these large speakers.

I have 2 VTF-3HO + Turbos and I wouldn't dream of spending that kind of money on anything other than the Magnapan. There is a huge thread on Magnapan and most everyone who can possibly manage them is trying as hard as they can to get in and upgrade to 3.6 or higher.

Keep in touch.

mrdap

Agent
Real Name
David
Stewart

Congrats on your upgrade!