What's new

Computer DVD compared to TV, which? (1 Viewer)

Sarah Kiwi

Auditioning
I am a newbie for DVD's. With my new computer I got a DVD player.

Is there any advantage to buying a DVD player for my TV? Which would give the better picture, sound etc.

Darren Haycock

Second Unit
Um, do you mean plugging your DVD-Rom drive into your TV to watch movies? That would work just fine, but it'd probably be a pain, with no remote and all. From my experience, having a dvd player/dvd-rom drive plugged into a television and sound system is definitely better quality than watching on the computer, but if you just want to use your dvd-rom drive plugged into the tv w/o having to buy a separate player, the quality should be relatively the same. Does that answer your question?

Sarah Kiwi

Auditioning
Thanks Darren,
>>>if you just want to use your dvd-rom drive plugged into the tv w/o having to buy a separate player, the quality should be relatively the same. Does that answer your question?

Bjorn Olav Nyberg

Supporting Actor
I would guess it depends on the drives and players compared though. I have been trying to play dvd's on the computer displayed on the TV as well, and apart from not getting an anamorphic signal on my widescreen tv I though the picture looked a lot softer compared to my regular dvd player, even in 4:3 mode. But I may have been doing something wrong.

Darren Haycock

Second Unit