What's new

Cheap Progressive review-DD6040, SD3900, S25 (1 Viewer)

JohnSterling

Stunt Coordinator
I have been using a Toshiba SD-4800 now for about 9-10 months with my 3 1/2 year old Mitz 55" HDTV. Overall, I've really enjoyed the player except for the Chroma bug that it shows. The bug finally got enough on my nerves that I figured it was time for something new.

I ran off to Best Buy and bought 3 of the cheap Progressive scan players. Mitz DD-6040, Toshiba SD-3900 and Panasonic S35.

My test DVD's were Moulin Rouge (Chroma Bug), Toy Story (Chroma Bug), Star Wars E1 (3:2 pull down), Janet Jackson Hawiian concert video (30FPS-Video format) and Saving Private Ryan (DTS Sound).

All the players were hooked up directly to the HDTV set via the component cables.

The 6040 was first. Overall, showed a good picture. As good as my old 4800, and without the Chroma bug. However, the 'zoom' feature (which I personally use a lot to minimize the top and bottom black borders on some movies) was BAD. No..it was VERY BAD. Extreme blurryness...even on the first level of zoom. Scratch one player.

Second was the 3900. Great picture. Only the slightest visible Chroma bug. GREAT GREAT zoom. GREAT sound. However, no matter what movie I used, the picture was very 'dark'. Like the black was set up to high or something. I messed around as much as I could with the TV and the player...but I could never really get around this VERY DARK PICTURE. If anyone know of a hack or something...I'd be very interested to hear about it. TTT DVD was unwatchable with this player. I was litterally squinting at the screen during the majority of the movie.