What's new

Building my own sub? (1 Viewer)

keoni

Agent
here is the low down.

1) I love woodworking
2) I love home audio.
3) I know nothing about building subs or anything else.

I am going to need a sub and would love to build my own. Only problem is I have absolutely no clue what I am doing. I have seen partsexpress has finished subs, sub kits, DIY supplies etc. Is there a notable difference between the 10 inch Dayton premade sub and the 10 inch MK III kit? It says that you can assemble these kits in an hour, but what about a know nothing such as myself? I would love to be able to have all the guts and instructions ready to go and just need a cabinet which I could craft myself but I am not sure if such an option exists. I am assuming the MDF is the preffered building material? Can you make sub cabinets out of other materials or no? Thanks for any info, I am just getting into this.

GrahamT

Supporting Actor
DIY seems like a good route for you. If you want to learn more I suggest The Loudspeaker Design Cookbook by Vance Dickason. The DIY kits are fool proof but usually come in flat packs or preassembled boxes, Dickason has designed kits aswell. You will probably get more satisfaction from building your own box though. You can go with the Shiva and the plans from www.adireaudio.com if this interests you. MDF is an excellent choice because it is very dense, strong, smooth, takes paint well and is cheap. You can make cabinets out of other materials from aluminum to granite to solid wood.

Rory Buszka

Supporting Actor
If you are experienced in woodworking, head on over to the DIY and Advanced Projects forum. They should be able to set you up with a design that you could build. You can save a lot of money if you can DIY.

PaulDF

Second Unit