What's new

Budget limited, but want to get started!!! (1 Viewer)

Chad Moss

Auditioning
I just got back from a trip to the Bose outlet center. I got the chance to listen to the 3-2-1 as well as the Lifestyles systems. From my perspective the systems sounded pretty clear but I am a novice and haven't listened to many HT systems. I didn't buy anything because I wanted to talk to you guys first.

The room that I want to set up is my great room. I am not worried about availability of speaker locations because I should have plenty of room but the Bose cubes are very attractive because of their size and their ability to be mounted to the wall. My question is are the HT in a box systems decent? They seem attractive but will they give you the flexibility further down the road?

My next group of questions are these:

If I was looking for a receiver/amplifier, DVD player, and speakers (w/ or w/out subwoofer) could I get by with about $1K? If not then how much should I expect to spend?

Does anyone have any recommendations for the above mentioned components that would fall into the price range of $1,000 - $1,500?

Thanks for your help,
Chad Moss

Jeffrey Forner

Screenwriter
Chad;
Welcome to the Forum!
First off, let me say that if you're looking for the best sound for your money, I strongly recommend you go for a brand other than Bose. The long and short of it is, they're good with marketing, but when compared to other speakers costing as much or less, they just don't stand up.