What's new

Best Universal Remote?... I'm a newbie... (1 Viewer)

Noah Neiman

Auditioning
Hi there.

Well, I'm only a college student, so I didn't go all out and get myself a $20,000 system like I would have liked to, but what I do have is a Sony HT1300D system (that's the reciever, DVD player and 5 speakers with a 12" sub). I've got a 32" panasonic tube and also a panasonic VCR.

At any rate, I was wondering if anyone could help me out and give me a few pointers on which is the best universal remote. I want to get something with an LCD. I've been looking at the sony RM-AV3000. I know I din't have enough components to fill it up and it might be a little bit of a waste, but I plan on getting other things later on. Plus, I just want something that looks extremely cool and will "wow" anyone who comes over to watch movies.

Thanks a lot guys... Noah

Jim Lenneman

Stunt Coordinator
Correction Tony - The BEST would be the Marantz 9200. Quite a few additional features over the PRO. Of course the real best would probably be a Crestron product. ;)
Noah: Tony's right about a 2000 being a better alternative to the Sony 3000. Refurbs with a full year warantee are available for a decent price.
Jim L

Brian Corr

Supporting Actor
If you like touchscreen, then the pronto.
If you like hard buttons, then the home theater master mx-500. (it's cheaper too)

Noah Neiman

Auditioning
So none of you would suggest getting that Sony RM-AV3000? I mean, it just looks SOOO cool! And probably does everything I want it to. In addition to the fact that practically my whole setup is Sony...

No one reccomends getting it?

jeff lam

Screenwriter
Real Name
Jeff Lam
You will learn here that mixing and matching is OK here. In fact, it's encouraged. Sure, you're whole set up may look cool, but are you willing to sacrifice performance and quality just so all your stuff can say S-O-N-Y on it?