What's new

Best Main/Center Channel Speakers for $1,000 (1 Viewer)

Jim AZ

Auditioning
OK, I've decided on the SVS 25-31PCi subwoofer. But, I'm still on the fence with regard to which main/center channel speakers I should purchase. Unfortunately, the room cannot accomadate surrounds so I'm not considering them at this juncture. I've read a gazillion reviews (both amateur and professional) and went to the local BB to audition some speakers, but still can't decide.

Plus, I'm a complete novice when it comes to HT and I'm not really sure what to look for soundwise. I have recently purchase a Denon 1804 which I am extremely happy with.

So, in your experience, what are the best sounding speakers at this price point. Aesthetics are important, so I'm looking for the traditional wood veneer or quality wood grain laminate. The speakers will be used 80% movies/20% music.

I sincerely appreciate your recommendations.

Jim

Jim

Tim K

Second Unit
You may want to consider finding an Audio/Video store other than Best Buy. If you are going to spend $1000 you can get some pretty nice speakers in my opinion. I think you will find better speakers and you will have more options for wood finishes at a higher level store.