What's new

Bass Shakers....Now What? (1 Viewer)

Ed O'Neill

Second Unit
Hi guys/gals,

I got my bass shakers today and no instructions or anything so what gives?

Anyways here is what I copied from parts express:
wiring configuration.
Isn't that an oxymoron... Isn't it either in series or parellel?

Here is the audio equipment:
Onkyo 787
onkyo m-282(external). This is to power the rear two channels.
cambridge soundworks BassCube 15(don't know if this is important)
(2)Bass Shaker pro

I need help and here are my questions:

1.The brown cork looking circles do they stay on or take them off?
2. How exactly should I hook up the bass shakers? I think it should be series wiring? 4ohms+4Ohms = 8ohms, right?
3. To what piece of equipmet should I hook the bass shakers up to ? or Is there even a way?

Signed
SO CONFUSED !

DanielGM

Stunt Coordinator
I have no experience with bass shakers, but I think what they mean is series OR parallel, or a combination of both if you happen to have like 4 of them or something. I think you are right in going with series wiring for a set of 2 of them because you wouldnt want to send a 2 ohm load to your amp. Good luck

DonnyD

Screenwriter
Ed......first, you will need a power source to drive the shakers. Most use a mono amp from Parts Express ( I use the 150w model/ I have 4 Pro shakers.)

Then you proceed to:

1)Mount the shakers to something solid... in your couch or love seat. LEAVE THE CORK ON !!!
2)if you have 2 shakers, wire them parallel for 8 ohm load.
3)If you have 4 shakers, wire each pair in parallel and then those two pair in series for 4 ohm load
4)Run your wire to the power source
5)Feed LFE signal to your power source by splitting the signal from your sub/LFE signal coming from your receiver

YOU"RE DONE as long as you put the bottom back on your couch!!! Personally, I removed the bottom couch fabric (crum catcher) and mounted my shakers on the most solid piece of frame I found.