What's new

Anybody true bi-amping their HT??? (1 Viewer)

John S

Senior HTF Member
From the pro audio world, Bi-amping / Tri-amping was always the way to go by the largest of margins.

I'm thinking 14 power amps here and 7 channels of electronic cross over.

Probably using two AVR's to provide all the power amps needed. Denon 4802 and a Pioneer 1014/1015 to achieve this somewhat crazy idea.

Any suggested electronic cross over products multi-channel or otherwise?

Any suggestions on where to cross from my low end 8" drivers to my mids/highs??? JBL S38's are the speakers.

Thanks as always in advance.

John Garcia

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
John
I have yet to see anyone who has done a true active bi-amp setup, and I've been doing this stuff for over 12 years.

I don't really see any reason to bi-amp surrounds. It just wouldn't be necessary, IMO. How about starting with just the mains or front three to see if it is even worth the effort?

One thing to consider also is that there are certain things like driver phase/alignment WRT each other, as well as specific characteristics that the individual components of the x-over bring to the picture that may not be simple to reproduce with active x-overs.

John S

Senior HTF Member
I guess we will see... I should be competent enough to re-engineer the cross over section. I should be able to post back in April on my findings with it all. The potential performance gains are to high for me not to try it. I'll bank if I get it going, it will be better than separates not bi-amp'd. But just as you said it remains to be seen.

The price of a Pioneer 1014 is low enough to give it a try anyways. I would probably put the mid/highs on the Denon amps. Except for the cross overs, all channels are nearly as easy to try as just the fronts. I'd be afraid the gain staging just wouldn't be right only doing the fronts too.

I like the fact that you have never seen it done, would make me unique if nothing else. :)

John Garcia