What's new

A Few Words About A few words about...™ The Wheeler Dealers -- in Blu-ray (1 Viewer)

Robert Harris

Archivist
Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Robert Harris
I've always been a huge James Garner fan. From his early days at WB TV, and onward, regardless of studio affiliation, and in many cases via his own Cherokee Productions, he was always a pleasure to watch.

There was a period in the early to mid-'60s, in which he was cast in a series of amiable films, with The Wheeler Dealers being a perfect example, that were never meant to be serious cinema. I doubt that anyone involved ever considered whether they would stand the test of time.

I'm referring here to productions such as Move Over, Darling, The Thrill of It All, The Art of Love, and Boys Night Out. Mr. Buddwing, shot in 1965, also fits neatly into that group. The production spent some time shooting at in Washington Square in lower Manhattan, and as a film student, I was permitted to spend some time around the shoot, and have a few discussions between takes with Mr. Garner, who was a consummate gentleman.

For those who haven't as yet gotten the Garner bug, I suggest that you run, do not walk, toward any of the following: The Great Escape, The Americanization of Emily, 36 Hours (recently released via Warner Archive), Victor Victoria (also Warner Archive), Murphy's Romance, or have some fun with the 1994 feature Maverick, based upon the TV series. For fun, there's My Fellow Americans, and for a more serious tone, The Notebook.

I'm not knocking The Wheeler Dealers. It still remains a fun way to revisit these early 1960s films, when the studios, which had made a foothold in TV, were turning out occasional features that were somewhere between the two.