1. Visit this thread for your chance to win a selection of Lionsgate action films on UV!
    Dismiss Notice

53" Panny, Sony s530d, Apex ad-3201.... arrrgghhh!!!

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Leif Wall, Aug 5, 2002.

  1. Leif Wall

    Leif Wall Second Unit

    Joined:
    May 4, 2000
    Messages:
    402
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just purchased a 53" Panasonic widescreen this past saturday. I rearranged my entire setup and got everything going. I received the Apex for free when buying the tv. Don't really care for Apex so I figured I'd sell it or give it to my parents. I'd just use my trusty and old (Nov. 99) Sony to watch dvds until I got a Panny rp82... or so I thought.

    In the setup menu on the Sony I have it set to 4:3 Letterbox for when I was watching on my 32" direct view Toshiba. Awhile ago my remote died on me, so I purchased the Sony av-2100. The problem? I can't get into the setup menu I need to with the new remote so I can't change the dvd player to ouput 16x9. So I'm forced to use the Apex... The problem?

    It's a complete P.O.S. I watched Jurassic Park and had audio hiccups throughout the entire movie. Put in the Fifth Element and it froze halfway through. Put in Dead Alive and it froze also.

    I don't get paid for another week and a half. Oh, how this sucks...
     
  2. Juan_R

    Juan_R Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2001
    Messages:
    683
    Likes Received:
    0
    There is got to be somebody you know that has a Sony DVD player so you can barrow there remote. I have a Sony S560D in my bedroom and I don't even use that remote any more, I use my TV remote to control it.
     
  3. Ken Seeber

    Ken Seeber Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 1999
    Messages:
    787
    Likes Received:
    2
    My Sony DVD player has a set-up button right on the front panel. Are you sure yours doesn't?
     
  4. Leif Wall

    Leif Wall Second Unit

    Joined:
    May 4, 2000
    Messages:
    402
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't know anybody with a Sony dvd player. No, the setup button is not on the front panel of the machine. It's really really frustrating.
     
  5. DonRoeber

    DonRoeber Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2001
    Messages:
    1,849
    Likes Received:
    0
    Lief,
    Have you checked out RemoteCentral.com? Perhaps there is a file or code there that you can program your remote with, to gain access to the setup menu.

    Failing that, I also have a S530D. Perhaps I could mail you my remote?
     
  6. Leif Wall

    Leif Wall Second Unit

    Joined:
    May 4, 2000
    Messages:
    402
    Likes Received:
    0
    I checked around on Remote Central and I have to have the original remote to learn from.

    Don - Thanks for the offer, but I think I'm just gonna tough it out and wait tell next week and order a Panny rp82 dvd player.

    The Apex is still freezing on over 50% of discs that I play and has the audio hiccups on many dts tracks that I play. I knew Apex was bad, but this bad?
     

Share This Page