-

Photo
- - - - -

Is anyone here studying martial arts?

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
129 replies to this topic

#1 of 130 OFFLINE   Tom-G

Tom-G

Screenwriter

• 1,646 posts

Posted February 14 2002 - 12:41 PM

I'm studying Tang So Doo right now and I love it. I only wish that I would have started in my childhood, but it's never too late to learn.

I chose the Korean Tang So Doo because of it's emphasis on kicking. All martial arts are good, but Tang So Doo is more of a kicking art and focuses on power over finesse.

#2 of 130 OFFLINE   Matt_M

Matt_M

Stunt Coordinator

• 94 posts

Posted February 14 2002 - 01:13 PM

Yep
I've been taking Shotokan Karate for almost two years now. I agree its better to start early. I am still young but wish I could do the splits.

#3 of 130 OFFLINE   Richard Travale

Richard Travale

Producer

• 3,419 posts
  • LocationVancouver Island, Canada

Posted February 14 2002 - 01:15 PM

Not right now but I have studied Wing Chun. I chose this because I am a pretty big guy and it really focuses on the efficiency of smaller moves and combinations of block/strikes and involves almost no acrobatics.I haven't been lately as I blew my knee out and still haven't quite recovered. I, like everyone here, wish that I had started early too. Although, our Sifu did not allow students under the age of 15 to participate but I would have liked to start at 15 rather than 24.
 "Cock your hat - angles are attitudes. "
- Frank Sinatra 

#4 of 130 OFFLINE   Tom-G

Tom-G

Screenwriter

• 1,646 posts

Posted February 14 2002 - 02:01 PM

Flexibility is my main problem. If one isn't flexible, one will have a difficult time executing proper kicks. How often do you guys do your stretching? Is your stretching relegated to the days you have class, or do you stretch on the other days too?