What's new

want to create loud home audio on a budget (1 Viewer)

tmahoney

Grip
Real Name
travis
I am completely new to home audio and I am moving into a small room on a college campus this fall. My only concern is creating an extremely loud system and I am willing to let other areas such as overall sound quality suffer. I still need everything; receiver, speakers, and a sub. My budget is to be somewhere around $500.

I have been looking into getting just the ONKYO HT-S5200 7.1-Channel, but I'm worried this won't be loud enough and the sub won't have enough kick.

Because of this I am exploring the possibility of getting an eD A2 - 250 sub woofer and an extremely cheap ($200) home theater system (Philips HTS3544??). I've been doing a lot of my own research but am still completely lost.

Anyway I look forward to hearing your thoughts

Robert_J

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Robert
Are you tryingt to recreate the car audio experience? You don't have enough budget to do that in anything other than a closet. Also those SPL levels will get you booted out of the dorm very fast.

Is this for movies, music or both?

-Robert

Joseph DeMartino

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Joseph DeMartino
????

1) You're moving into an extremely small room. Any extremely loud system in an enclosed space like that is just going to make your ears bleed. The Onkyo is going to be plenty loud enough under those conditions. In fact, you probably won't be able to stand it turned up much over the 3/4 mark. And even if you can...

2) Are you trying to piss off your neighbors? At my old college you got fined if you made enough noise to interfere with the sleep or study of other students. If you just want to annoy people there are ways to do that without spending $500. This forum is obviously geared towards home theater, so that's where most of our expertise lies. If you've got a completely different application in mind, you might get better advice elsewhere.