Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

HD transfer


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
7 replies to this topic

#1 of 8 OFFLINE   Dan M~

Dan M~

    Second Unit



  • 353 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 30 2000

Posted January 13 2006 - 03:11 AM

I have an old 20 Gig HD that I want to replace with a new 200 Gig HD. Can I install the new HD as a slave, transfer all the (bootable)info to the new HD and then make it the master? Is there a program that will do this? I had re-installed the OS a few months ago and want to avoid doing that again. The 20 Gig is bound for a USB drive enclosure to swap files between PC's.

Thanks,

Dan M
-Dan M~

 

 


#2 of 8 OFFLINE   Mike LS

Mike LS

    Supporting Actor



  • 840 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 29 2000

Posted January 13 2006 - 08:11 AM

I think you'd be better off removing the 20gb drive and doing ai fresh install on the new disk, then hooking up the old drive as a slave and copying your data off of that.

I'm sure there are programs that will do what you want, but it seems that you'd be less likely to run into problems if you install fresh on the new drive.

#3 of 8 OFFLINE   Parker Clack

Parker Clack

    Executive Producer



  • 12,120 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 30 1997
  • Real Name:Parker
  • LocationKansas City, MO

Posted January 13 2006 - 09:51 AM

I agree with Mike. Install the 200G as your primary with a fresh install of the OS. Then install the 20G as your slave and transfer the data over from it to your 200G.

It is always nice to have a back up drive in your PC anyway.

"I tried to get my medical records from the company but they say they

are confidential and can only be released to other insurance companies,

pharmaceutical​ reps, suppliers of medical equipment and for some

reason the RNC."
 


#4 of 8 OFFLINE   Reginald Trent

Reginald Trent

    Screenwriter



  • 1,317 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 18 2000

Posted January 13 2006 - 11:17 AM

You could use Norton Ghost to make your 200G HD a exact clone of your original 20g HD. Then all you would have to do is designate your 200g HD as master and 20g HD as slave. Doing this would not require you to reinstall anything.

Edited for this correction:

If using Norton Ghost the 20g HD will be the master and the 200g HD will be the slave. However, after using Norton Ghost then you would make the 200g HD the master and the 20g HD the slave.

#5 of 8 OFFLINE   Reginald Trent

Reginald Trent

    Screenwriter



  • 1,317 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 18 2000

Posted January 13 2006 - 11:25 AM

Go here....

http://www.pricewatch.com/

and type Norton Ghost in the search box.

#6 of 8 ONLINE   Steve Berger

Steve Berger

    Supporting Actor



  • 960 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 08 2001

Posted January 13 2006 - 11:59 AM

My Western Digital drives all came with a setup utility that offered to transfer the OS automatically. I think other brands do too.

#7 of 8 OFFLINE   Reginald Trent

Reginald Trent

    Screenwriter



  • 1,317 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 18 2000

Posted January 13 2006 - 11:54 PM

Some computer makers like Dell installs hidden partitions which most utilities that come with replacement HDs won't copy. That's why you need something like Norton Ghost it copies everything ala clones the original HD.

#8 of 8 OFFLINE   Dan M~

Dan M~

    Second Unit



  • 353 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 30 2000

Posted January 14 2006 - 11:08 AM

Thanks everyone. My drive is an OEM drive, no cables or software. I'll check out Norton's Ghost.

-Dan M~
-Dan M~