What's new

Are these Speakers good? (2 Viewers)

ted*

Agent
Hi guys I am a newbie to HT Systems. So please be patient while I ask for your expert advise.

I am going to buy a Sony 50" Plasma soon and would like a home audio system to go with it.

I am planning on getting the following:
Receivers:
Harman Kardon AVR 630 7.1 Receiver
OR
Yahama HTR 5890
(would love to hear input on this if you have any)

Now for the speakers this is what I was thinking:

1 x Ascend 340 Center
2 x Ascend CBM 170 for Front
2 x Ascend HTM 200 for Rear

Sub- Unknown would love some input ($250-350 range)

Are those speakers good? And do they match?

Thank you in advance!
Ted

John S

Senior HTF Member
Ascend is a very reputable speaker manufacturer. I'd certainly label them good, heck maybe even great.

On the sub side, I have to deferr to others here in this price range....

The cheapest sub I suggest anymore is the Velodyne DLS5000 and can be had for between $500 and $800....

If I really only had $250 to $350, I think I would DYI my sub myself with a 15" driver. I am just down period on single 12" driver sub solutions these days period.

Nhan_H

Second Unit
What is your room dimension (volume-wise) and layout (closed or opened to other rooms, concrete/hardwood or carpeted, how many windows)?

Since you're getting the ascends (very good speakers, indeed), why not just get the entire package from their site?

That is, the ascend speakers, Hsu sub (maybe STF2, depending on your room size (volume), and HK receiver. That's a lot of receiver in the HK 630 (why not get the latest 635, instead)? What I'd suggest is get the 430 and upgrade the mains from the 170s to the 340s.

You can do the package calculation here (minus the receiver):

http://www.ascendacoustics.com/pages...isor.mv#bottom

ted*

Agent
Im not 100% sure of the dimension because I won't be moving in there for another month. However it is connected with a half wall to the kitchen so I guess you can say open.