Jump to content



Sign up for a free account!

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests to win things like this Logitech Harmony Ultimate Remote and you won't get the popup ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Hooking up a passive sub woofer


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
12 replies to this topic

#1 of 13 Andrew O'Brien

Andrew O'Brien

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 97 posts
  • Join Date: May 26 2002

Posted December 26 2003 - 01:34 AM

I hope to set-up my new surround sound receiver today. I have an old passive 12 inch sub woofer that I was planning on using until my budget permits picking up a new powered sub-woofer. In reading the instructions with my new receiver, I note that it has a specific connection , actually a cable with connector for a powered sub-woofer. I assume that I cannot connect my passive sub-woofer there. I have not used my sub-woofer for a couple of years and have forgotten how it hooks up. I'll look at it later but I seem to recall that the connections actually went in series to the Left and Right front speakers, does that sound correct?
Andy.

#2 of 13 Mike_J_D

Mike_J_D

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 213 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 03 2003

Posted December 26 2003 - 03:23 AM

No you cannot use the sub out connection for a passive subwoofer .....unless you have a amp like a NHT SA3. Which is intended for sub amplification. But hears how you can...Assuming your sub has the right amount of connections, you can run the speaker cable from your reciever to the FR and FL of your sub. From your sub you should have to corresponding outputs, FL out and FR out. Use those outputs to run speaker cable to your front speakers. Hope this helps somewhat.
HT - Denon 3808ci | Elite Pro-111FD | PS3 60gb | Panamax 5300PM | NHT ST4 | NHT SB2 | NHT SC1 | SVS 20-39 | NHT SA3

#3 of 13 Brian Fellmeth

Brian Fellmeth

    Supporting Actor

  • 792 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 30 2000

Posted December 26 2003 - 04:20 AM

There is a second option. Any old stereo amp or receiver can be used to power that passive sub- doesn't have to be "specially designed" for a subwoofer. Run a single RCA cable from your HT receiver's sub out jack to any input in any old stereo amp or receiver that is laying around the house (but not phono). Run speaker wire from the anp/receiver to the sub and your up.

#4 of 13 Andrew O'Brien

Andrew O'Brien

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 97 posts
  • Join Date: May 26 2002

Posted December 26 2003 - 05:22 AM

Quote:
There is a second option. Any old stereo amp or receiver can be used to power that passive sub- doesn't have to be "specially designed" for a subwoofer. Run a single RCA cable from your HT receiver's sub out jack to any input in any old stereo amp or receiver that is laying around the house (but not phono). Run speaker wire from the anp/receiver to the sub and your up.

Hmm, interesting. By coincidence I just dug out my 24 year old Pioneer SX-650 yesterday(it had a mic in jack and I needed to test a a karaoke mic, Santa delivered the kids a non working Karaoke machine !!!) ). My Pioneer still works fine.

Let me see if I have this right...the signals destined for the subwoofer from my new surround sound receiver would be routed to the Pioneer and then amplified and sent to the sub-woofer. I assume that to control the level of the sub-woofer, i would then need to play around with the volume setting on the Pioneer and the sub-woofer settings on the new receiver. Find some sound of balance beteen them ?
Andy.

#5 of 13 Brian Fellmeth

Brian Fellmeth

    Supporting Actor

  • 792 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 30 2000

Posted December 26 2003 - 06:07 AM

By George, I think he's got it.

The volume control on the Pioneer would play the same role as the level knob on the sub amp. Since you will be using one channel of a stereo pair, make sure the R or L that you pick for the RCA jack matches the R and L of the speaker terminals. Pin the balance knob all the way to the appropriate side. Keep the bass tone control in neutral position. I suggest starting with the volume level on the pioneer about 1 third the way up then trim from the receiver to get the right total output.

#6 of 13 Andrew O'Brien

Andrew O'Brien

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 97 posts
  • Join Date: May 26 2002

Posted December 26 2003 - 06:53 AM

yeah but its not raining in Spain today.

Ta very much.

Andy.
Andy.

#7 of 13 Andrew O'Brien

Andrew O'Brien

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 97 posts
  • Join Date: May 26 2002

Posted December 28 2003 - 08:57 AM

Quote:
There is a second option. Any old stereo amp or receiver can be used to power that passive sub- doesn't have to be "specially designed" for a subwoofer. Run a single RCA cable from your HT receiver's sub out jack to any input in any old stereo amp or receiver that is laying around the house (but not phono). Run speaker wire from the anp/receiver to the sub and your up.

Okay, I missing something basic here. My passive subwoofer has connections on the back labelled amplifier/receiver IN and SPEAKERS OUT. So, I take the signal from my new amplfier subwoofer output and connect to an input on my old amplifier. Then I take an audio OUT jack from the old amplfier and connect to what on the passive subwoofer ? The SPEAKERS OUT ? Something is not computing in my brain
Andy.

#8 of 13 Johnny Ayala

Johnny Ayala

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 183 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 13 2003

Posted December 28 2003 - 09:02 AM

Go from you sub-output on the first reciever to an input on the 2nd reciever, then from there,you take speaker wire to the "in" of the passive sub. All the 2nd reciever is doing is acting as the amp like on a powered sub. Posted ImagePosted Image The "out" on the passive sub is for connecting satellite speakers.
On The 8th Day, God Created Home Theater.

#9 of 13 Andrew O'Brien

Andrew O'Brien

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 97 posts
  • Join Date: May 26 2002

Posted December 28 2003 - 09:59 AM

I did as you suggested, I'm getting nothing from the subwoofer. I can get a signal if I turn the amp powering the subwoofer to radio but nothing from the new receiver that is providing the Dolby digital signal. Is it possible that the subwoofer out jack on the new receiver is not working? Not producing a signal? I am taking the subwoofer outsignal from the new receiver and connecting it to the CD input signal on the old amp.
Andy.

#10 of 13 Johnny Ayala

Johnny Ayala

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 183 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 13 2003

Posted January 01 2004 - 08:30 AM

Have you checked to make sure you have the sub-output on when you have the reciever on other selections besides the tuner? On my reciever, I can choose different settings for different selections (tuner, DVD, VCR, Cable). Johnny....Posted ImagePosted Image
On The 8th Day, God Created Home Theater.

#11 of 13 Rogozhin

Rogozhin

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 142 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 05 2003

Posted January 04 2004 - 05:43 PM

does the pioneer have preamp loops so you can bypass the pream and just use the output from the new reciever (using a y adapter) to go to the amp in on the pioneer.

I'm doing the same thing but I have a NAD 219THX running my sub-I run the sub out (one rca) to a Y cable splitting it to a RandL rca to the 218thx bridged mono and then hook up the speaker leads to the 218thx-I then adjust crossover through the H&K 225.

It relatively straight foward-good luck Posted Image

rogo
"Those who long for exaltation look upwards, but I look downwards for I am the exalted."

Thus Spake Zarathustra

#12 of 13 shankar

shankar

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 91 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 04 2001

Posted January 07 2004 - 05:30 AM

After reading this post, I went home and set it up. I have a passive Optimus sub and a 11 year old Technics SA-GX35 prologic reciever.

My current reciever is a Pioneer 511. I took the sub out from the pioneer using a Y adaptor. I then connected an audio patch cable (both channels) to the Y adapter and fed it into the L-R inputs fo CD in the Techniques.

I then took speaker cables from the L-R speaker outs from the Technics and connected them to the L-R speker IN for the subwoofer... Put the amp in stereo mode. Turned up the amp volume control. I then started the DVD player with Independence Day..... Posted Image Nothing happened....

I was so disappointed Posted Image and then it hit me. I had A-B speaker output selection control on the Technics and it was off. I selected Speaker A and then BOOOOOM!!!Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image :b

I had forgoteen that the DVD was running and the bass hit me in the stomach like a bomb....

I took the AVIA disc out, rebalanced the speaker and sub levels... I then played the Pink Floyd SACD and WOW!... Now I get it....

Thanks to all of you for saving me some dough!!
Sincerely,

Shankar

#13 of 13 Johnny Ayala

Johnny Ayala

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 183 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 13 2003

Posted January 07 2004 - 06:04 PM

Congrats!!! Posted Image
On The 8th Day, God Created Home Theater.





Forum Nav Content I Follow