What's new

Help please. Spent all day and still having problems (1 Viewer)

john berry

Auditioning
Hi, I am hoping someone out there can help. Spent all day today trying to set up a new HT setup in our family room and still having problems. I should note I am no novice - I set up a sweet system in our basement about 10 years ago (Pioneer Bug Screen TV, Definitive Technology Speakers, Yamaha Receiver, LD, DVD, CD etc). However, technology has changed andeven though I did research, some things were stumping me today with our Fam Room setup (note this is not as bog time as my existing basement setup - less intrusive to satisfy the wife).

The Components:

My old 27 Sony TV. This baby is around 15 years old - so it just has component inputs - no S-video, etc

A new (refurbished) Denon 1803.

A new set of Wharfedale 60+ moviestar speakers (5+1) (Sub is powered).

An old VCR

Old Sony 100 disc CD player

An old Sonance 260x3 amp (this is used to pump music independently to 3 other rooms in the house)

a new JVC XVN50BK DVDmy daughters old X-Box

My problems:

1. biggest problem is the hum in the speakers. This is my first time using a subwoofer (didn't need one for my basement setup) and it is humming bad. Additionally, when I go to listen to the DVD or X-Box thru the system - also get bigtime hum thru the Center speaker as well as most of the surround speakers. (note hum may be on other speakers all the time - but I may not have heard on Tuner playing it loudly - can't retry now - everyone else is asleep)

2. Had a problem with no picture on the DVD - but think I just figured that one out

3. unsure about how best to handle x-box connection

My Connections:

1. Speaker connections straightforward - separate line for sub- connected from single line out on receiver using Radio Shack Digital Audio cable / Monster Y connector to sub.

2. VCR connected thru Component cables to Denon. Also, Cable company COAX first connected to VCR then to TV.