What's new

Thoughts on Buffy: Season 2 (1 Viewer)

Robert Burkes

Second Unit
Haven't seen much posted on this set lately, but it seems to be selling really well. I went to Best Buy yesterday, and they were out. What do you guys think of the set? Worth $40?

Chris M

Second Unit
Considering X-Files has about the same amount of eps and dics, and this is half the price... definately worth it. Just wish I could afford it!

Chris.

Michael Fennessy

Stunt Coordinator
Real Name
Michael Fennessy
I am enjoying it. This is my first time watching the season(s). The one thing I noticed is the night scenes seem to be grainy. Not sure if it is my setup or the DVDs themselves.

Mike

Jeff Kleist

Senior HTF Member
Buffy was shot on a very low budget on 16mm film the first 2 seasons
The DVDs accurately replicate what was seen on TV, and improves on it quite a bit
It's Buffy, it'd be totally worth it at 3x the price (Fox, don't get any ideas :) )

Craig S

Premium
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Craig Seanor
The DVDs are my first viewing of Buffy. I'm 10 eps into the 2nd season. It rocks!!
My only comment on the video quality is that there is some terrible blooming in black areas on a couple of the early episodes. The worst is "Inca Mummy Girl". The review at DVD Angle noted this as well.
Nevertheless, if you have any interest in BTVS at all, the set is a must-buy - especially given the price. We're talking around $7 a disc, with 3 or more hours of well-written, marvelously entertaining material per disc. That's a screaming bargain in my book.

Brian Kleinke

Supporting Actor
I've watched the 1st 4 episodes, and these discs are better done then the Buffy ep1 discs. Its nice to see Fox knows how to release seasons on DVD, even if it meant learning by releasing X-files 1st (I want a new outside cardboard cover for my season 1, it fell apart :frowning:)
Brian

Chris M

Second Unit