What's new

Is 2.1 system on a budget possible? (1 Viewer)

JMooney5115

Auditioning
Real Name
Justin
Hey guys. I am new to home theater but I love the sound of good sound. My dad wants to get a speaker system for his new tv in our basement. It does not need to be impressive but cannot sound bad. How the room is set up I don't believe it would be great for a 5.1 system. The tv is in the corner and the recliner sits in front of it ~15 feet away (maybe the diagram below helps describe this).

Anyways, his budget is ~$500-$750. I'm not really sure of the quality of equipment this much money can buy. He wanted a home theater in a box but I have never been impressed with them. The other choices he was thinking of was the few Bose 2.1 systems available here below as well as the Bose 321 system.

Also, blu ray/dvd playback is not a must right now. They don't own any blu rays and have very few dvds.

www.samsclub.com/shopping/navigate.do
www.samsclub.com/shopping/navigate.do

Diagram
____________________________///wall
|..tv.....................................|
|..........................................|
|........................................c|
|........................................o|
|........................................u|
|........................................c|
|........................................h|
|..........................................|
|.............................chair......|
|.........................................|

David Willow

Babbling Idiot
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Dave
I would suggest getting something like this Onkyo AVR: http://www.amazon.com/Onkyo-TX-SR507-5-1-Channel-Surround-Receiver/dp/B001VEI290/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1268542367&sr=8-1

Then spend the rest on 2 good speakers.

Do you need small speakers like the ones you linked to?

Oh, and forget the BOSE. You can do MUCH better.

Tim-H.

Second Unit
Real Name
Tim-H