What's new

Home Media Center- Basement development HELP! (1 Viewer)

nyoko77

Auditioning
Real Name
razzzle
Hey this is my first time posting and needless to say I'm really new to all this... We are developing our basement into a media room, planning to run a projector with fixed screen, cable, xbox and blue ray. We are huge NFL fans and will be watching football every Sunday on the projector screen as well as 2 65" Samsung UN65EH6000 tv's. Any advise or comments will be greatly appreciated!!!

Room Dimensions:
Size of (screen) wall: 14f length x 9f height
Length of room (wall to wall) 18f long

Target size of screen ~100-115 inch

What do you guys recommend in terms of hardware- projector and fixed screen (keeping in mind cable tv quality will be of highest importance). The basement is in the framing stage and we are thinking about 1 of the 3 below:

Projector:
1. Epson PowerLite Home Cinema 3020e,
OR
2. Epson PowerLite Pro Cinema 6020UB,
OR
3. Epson PowerLite Home Cinema 5010e

Biggest reason we like the Epson 3020/3020e is because of the wireless inputs upto 5 HDMI can be connected??? (THis will be beneficial during NFL season).

Fixed Screen:
HELP??!!!- what brand/size?

We live in Canada but travel to the US frequently, any comments, suggestions, etc will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks alot!

mpompey

HW Reviewer
Real Name
Michael Pompey
Hey man, you're project sounds very similar to my setup. Here's what I would recommend.

1. Buy the best projector you can afford, as it will be the mainstay of your system. If you can get it new great, if not 1 year old isn't bad. Epson has one of the best warranties around. Be sure the projector was originally purchased at an authorized retailer.

2. Screen: Go DIY and save yourself some money. I've build several Blackout cloth screens and the performance is very close to screens 10x the price.