1. Guest,
    If you need help getting to know Xenforo, please see our guide here. If you have feedback or questions, please post those here.
    Dismiss Notice

GETTING AUDIO FROM TV TO SURROUND SOUND

Discussion in 'Beginners, General Questions' started by Ider Gerelsuren, Oct 2, 2012.

  1. Ider Gerelsuren

    Ider Gerelsuren New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, I'd like to hook up my samsung led TV to energy classic 5.1 surround sound system
    (dont have receiver yet trying to choose one), I never had surround sound system before. So asking from experts.
    1.How do I play my audio to Surround Sound from my TV? (note that I'm playing video from my computer to TV, or from external HDD)
    2.Also, how do I hook up my cable box(http://www.aminocom.com/products/aminet-a540-/]http://www.aminocom.com/products/aminet-a540-/]http://www.aminocom.com/products/aminet-a540-/) to surround system? (Video on TV, Audio on 5.1 system)
    And, finally is there any other way to hook up my TV & Cable Box without A/V receiver to my 5.1 system?
    Thanks for looking
     
  2. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,041
    Likes Received:
    894
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    You bought a speaker set that requires an AVR.
    There are "ways" to use them without an AVR, but it would cost you 10 times more than a basic $200 AVR to accomplish.
    You connect EVERYTHING to the AVR, then the AVR to the TV.
    That is how it has been done for 30 years.
    And, stop thinking "getting sound from your TV" and it makes more sense. In "proper home theater" the TV is nothing more than a display device.
     
  3. Ider Gerelsuren

    Ider Gerelsuren New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay, so can i just hook up my tv to receiver using hdmi? and all my sound will go to speakers?
     
  4. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,041
    Likes Received:
    894
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    Apparently...
    "You connect EVERYTHING to the AVR, then the AVR to the TV"...
    Doesn't mean anything.
    Sure, go ahead and "hook up TV to AVR" and all sound will come from speakers...
     
  5. Al.Anderson

    Al.Anderson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Messages:
    2,465
    Likes Received:
    56
    Real Name:
    Al
    You stated it awkwardly, but yes - if you connect all devices the the receiver and then the receiver to the TV, it will work correctly.
    The only exception is if you have an OTA antenna connected directly to your TV. Do you have that kind of connection?
     
  6. Ider Gerelsuren

    Ider Gerelsuren New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks. I dont think I have anything called Antenna.
     
  7. Robert_J

    Robert_J Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2000
    Messages:
    8,264
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Real Name:
    Robert
  8. Ider Gerelsuren

    Ider Gerelsuren New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I dont have this, so I guess I would be fine.
    http://www.onkyousa.com/model.cfm?m=TX-SR606&class=Receiver&p=f
    I'm thinking about buying this AVR. Would it be able to connect my speakers, tv, and cable box via HDMI? just asking because it has 1 HDMI output slot
    thanks..
     
  9. Al.Anderson

    Al.Anderson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Messages:
    2,465
    Likes Received:
    56
    Real Name:
    Al
    Yes, that receiver will do just fine. Unless you go high end, most receivers only have one HDMI output. What you need to be concerned with is how many inputs it has, and that model has plenty.
     
  10. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,041
    Likes Received:
    894
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    The X06 models are "prone" to HDMI board failure(last thought to have been as high as 9% failure the first year...)
    More than sure you are buying it used, since it is 4 years old. Make sure it works.
     

Share This Page