What's new

which is better: a digital photo of a movie still off a computer or TV screen? (1 Viewer)

DustinLC

Supporting Actor
No doubt I'll get flame with such an idiotic idea. Why wouldn't he just get a software to capture a screenshot off the DVD?

I have a mac and I did some reading. I got a heachache just reading on how to do it, what software to use, ect. Then I thought, I don't need a perfect image.

Here's what I'm using it for. I'm an artist. Recently I'm doing a lot of movie paintings. Currently, it's Disney animation in oil painting. I've wasted too much time flipping through available magazines, coloring books, searching through the web just to find the image I want to paint. Wouldn't it be great if I can just find that perfect scene from the movie and paint it? It takes too long to do a piece so freezing a frame on my TV is not a good idea.

I took a digital photo of a freeze frame from my 42 inch RPTV, messed around with it in photoshop, and got a descent image I ALMOST can work with. I wonder if I can improve the image by taking a picture off of my 17in flat panel mac monitor.

Any suggestions? Ideas of how to quicky get an image by other means.

OK, flame suit on. Fire away :D.

Vince Maskeeper

Senior HTF Member
Dustin,

I dunno which would be better- but I would imagine that someone here would happily capture and email you and image if you need it.

To be honest- I was thinking about hiring an artist to do some painting (very abstract) renditions of a few film frames myself-- I don't have a ton of money, but maybe you might be interested?

I'd be happy to provide you frame captures if you want to be my personal painter ;)

-V

PS: Looks like Steve and Tony are having a ball posting random image captures over in Area 51-- either of them might also be happy to snap a few frames for you.

DustinLC

Supporting Actor
Vince,

I'm afraid I don't understand abstract :D. And you said VERY ABSTRACT.

If it's abstract, why would you need still frames :D?