What's new
World Wide Stereo

Where to start (1 Viewer)

JackLonn

Agent
I am new to digital HT. I purchased a Denon AVR-2500 when they first came out along with a pair of Klipsh CF-2 fl&r, KV3 cc, SW12 sub, and a Boston HD5s for surrounds. Now I'm ready to make the jump to digital and haven't been following the scene enough to know what I need.

I'm seriously considering a 5803, or comparable separates, along with a new set of speakers. I'd like to continue to use the SW-12 sub but the rest are up for replacement.

The question I have is, in reading mag. reviews I'll see a set of speakers the reviewer raves about, but usually no mention of a appropriate room size. My new HT room (my wife claims it's my room but I know better ;) ) is 19'x17' w/ a cathedral ceiling that starts at 9' and peaks at 14'. Total room volume is 3,700 ft^3. My budget for the receiver/separates and new speakers is about $6,000. I'm hoping to add a FP later ($3,500 - $4,000 street). So.... any ideas? My biggest problem is distance. I'm 150 miles from any decent audio stores. Yeah, we've go CC and BB, but...

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks, JackLonn

728x90

Jon_Welker

Second Unit
Jack,

Seems like you have a pretty big room to fill, especially with those cathedral ceilings. I think you're definitely in the right ballpark from a receiver perspective. Be looking at Denon's, Elite's, Yamaha's, HK, Onkyo, Marantz's, etc. higher end. Or, going separates might be a logical choice as well. Just remember, though, from a budget perspective, the bigger/better receiver you get, the more this takes away from your speaker budget. And, ultimately, those speakers are what's going to have to fill the room. My personal rule of thumb is that if you're going to make tradeoffs, make them in favor of speakers. Yet, you want something good enough to adequately power the speakers, and do a good job as well. I know, it's a b!tch, isn't it?