What's new

Unique, and BAD!, Sanyo Z1 Problem (1 Viewer)

John_Bix

Auditioning
Real Name
John Bixler
Let me relate the following story. The gist of it is, I have a Sanyo PLV z1, and it is broke, and has me stumped...

I have been enjoying a z1 myself for nearly 3 years now. But a few weeks ago, a crazy thing happened:

I sat down to watch the US v Italy World Cup game in HD, and when I went to turn it on, the picture sort of flashed on and off, then when it finally came back, the colors were all crazy...like most everything was cyan or shades thereof. Very weird. It was like that for a few seconds, then the picture flickered off, then back on...normal. Then about 20 seconds later, flickered off, then on, only back to the shades of cyan. I thought "crappy OTA HD reception...they are always messed up" so we went to my neighbors to watch the game.

Came back down a few days later to watch something else, same problem. Shades of cyan. So I went about troubleshooting it, and long story short, I have my components going into the PJ thru a component cable, and it would work "ok" if I had the input set to "1080i" rather then "Automatic" as I had for the previous 3 years.

The one catch (why I said "ok" earlier), is that the screen would flicker, as if it dropped a few frames, intermittently. There was no apparent cause to the flickering...sometimes it'd go 1 minute between flickers, sometimes 10, sometimes an hour...and sometimes it flickered once, sometimes it flickered for about 10 seconds straight.

Now, fast forward a week, and the input completely dosen't work. When I turn the PJ on, the 30 second warmup countdown takes about 3 minutes, then when the countdown goes away, no picture shows up. The menus still work, so it's not a pure display problem. But all I get is black.