What's new

True Lies Blu-ray (1 Viewer)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jerome Muz

Auditioning
Real Name
Jérôme Muslewski
Hi, I'm a new member and am creating this new thread as, for some reason, I could not respond to user Disctrip who is asking about the audio-video quality of that Spanish blu-ray release of True Lies.
Just a bit of context: as a French resident, I ordered it from Amazon.es. This is definitely NOT an official release but there's apparently some legal hole with the rights of the film in Spain which allowed that 'bootleg' edition to come out and Amazon.es to sell it.
But what about the quality of the transfer? Well, it's by no means up to the standard of current releases, whether they are new films or even newly mastered re-release of catalog films.
However, you own the Laserdisc and the non-anamorphic DVD (ouch!) like me and you just can't wait to finally watch True Lies again on your projection screen and loud sound system, then it's a no-brainer! The disc is quite cheap too (about 15$ + shipping + tax if applicable). The master is the same as the LD/DVD but the new HD scan (not to mention anamorphic transfer at last!) is a major improvement. Of course, in terms of colors and contrast, the image feels a bit flat. Bright lights (the light beams in the opening scene, explosions or sun flares) look burnt and therefore probably lose a lot of image information but again, that's the same 20-25 year-old master so it should not come as a surprise. Grain is present as it should be but a new master will allow for a much more elegant handling of it obviously. But again, let's not think about how we hope True Lies to be looking in HD (and future 4K releases), but let's just be content with that bootleg release for now. Even though this is an old master, the good news is that the compression itself is clean enough.