What's new

Problems with HDMI switching on older receiver (1 Viewer)

GabeBillings

Auditioning
Real Name
Gabe
I've got an aging 5.1 HT setup that I've been using for probably ten years or so. At this point I'm not super invested in an amazing setup; I just want something better than the TV speakers. It's been working fine for a long time, but it's slowly having more and more problems.

I've got an Onkyo TX-SR607. Really the only two inputs we use are a Comcast cable box and a Roku, both of which are hooked up via HDMI, then an HDMI out into the TV. In case it matters I've also got a Harmony remote & hub that turn everything on/off.

So when everything was working, a single button push on the remote would power the TV and receiver, switch to the right TV input, switch to the right receiver output, and everything would be fine. I will say that I feel like in years past there's always been a little lag before I'd see anything on the TV, but I thought that was normal.

We watch stuff via the Roku more than anything, so what happens now is that I'll hit the button for the Roku, everything will power up and be switched correctly, but there's a 'No Signal' message on the TV. This was where I was at in the previous comment, but maybe 10-20 seconds later the Roku would kick on.

Now it's either an incredible long wait, or not at all. I've had times where it sat on the 'No Signal' screen for a minute or two, then would suddenly kick on. I've had times where it's never changed.

For a long period of time where this would happen I could 'kick things loose' by switching over to Comcast, where I would almost immediately get a working signal. Then I'd just switch back to the Roku and that connection would come up.