What's new

Possible to integrate soundbar with existing speakers in new home? (1 Viewer)

vic3038

Auditioning
Real Name
Victor
I recently purchased a home that has built in Polk Rear and Surround speakers in the ceiling and back wall of my living room. I'm wondering if anyone knows of a soundbar that I could use to integrate with these speakers. I'm assuming I'd need to purchase a receiver as well. The reason for the soundbar is that I'd like to reduce clutter and by I I mean my girlfriend. Any help or opinions would be appreciated. I'm a noob so for all I know this might be a horrible idea. Thanks.

Steve Schaffer

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Steve Schaffer
vic3038 said:
I recently purchased a home that has built in Polk Rear and Surround speakers in the ceiling and back wall of my living room. I'm wondering if anyone knows of a soundbar that I could use to integrate with these speakers. I'm assuming I'd need to purchase a receiver as well. The reason for the soundbar is that I'd like to reduce clutter and by I I mean my girlfriend. Any help or opinions would be appreciated. I'm a noob so for all I know this might be a horrible idea. Thanks.
Basically it's an either-or proposition as far as AVR/speakers vs soundbar. A couple of smallish/midsize left/right front speakers doesn't add much to what "clutter" you'd already have with a soundbar, and a powered sub can be placed almost anywhere. If this is indeed a dealbreaker look forward to a lifetime of playing second fiddle to someone else's "decorating sense". That being said there's also the possibity of installing in-wall speakers to complete your array which should contribute to domestic harmony:D

schan1269

HTF Expert
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Sam