What's new

Passive radiators, What exactly do they do? (1 Viewer)

jeff lam

Screenwriter
Real Name
Jeff Lam
I've seen these on many of your projects and in catalogs. What are they used for and what exactly do they do to the sub?

jeff lam

Screenwriter
Real Name
Jeff Lam
OK, So what is everyones personal opinions about PR's? From what I gather, they are best when a long/large port is desired but not available. Is this correct?
Would these work well on the top of a down-firing tube sub? Like SVS but use a PR instead of a port?

Jack Gilvey

Senior HTF Member
This is addressed in that FAQ. No, they can't be downfiring.
I haven't used one yet, but I will shortly.
------------------
hlfmstflg2.gif

John Morton

Stunt Coordinator
I'm no expert - too many time constraints, BUT, I say go with PRs.
My Infinity HPS-1000 sub has a 15" down firing driver with dual 15" PRs (on each side of the roughly 100 liter enclosure). I did near field testing and found that the driver is almost perfectly flat from 100 down to around 40, where it slopes down slowly (well, excluding the 70 hz +5db gain which in use makes it flat because I cross it at 60 hz - too cool, my mains drop at 80 and the sub picks up at 80 :). At 20hz the driver is substantially lower in db. The cool thing is the PRs slope up in an almost exact mirror of the driver's drop. They then flatten out to the same db level that the driver was at to begin with. The PRs then start to slope down slowly at 20 hz. The end result at a 45 degree angle to the sub enclosure is a damn near perfectly flat response.