What's new

Newbie here trying ot build a set up on a tight budget (1 Viewer)

FIrst off, let me apologize up front if my questions are too basic or my budget is too small. It appears most folks here are way more advanced than what I am looking to do.

I am looking for a home theatre setup (tv, receiver, speakres etc...) for less than $1,000

As far as a tv, I am hoping to go with a 37in in 1080. RIght now I am leaning on a VIzio LCD.

Vizio 37" Class Eco 1080p 60Hz LCD HDTV, VO370M
http://www.walmart.com/Vizio-37-LCD-TV/ip/10993795

It seems to have all the inputs/outputs I need.

I will be hooking up a cable box, PS3 and possibly a DVD player, each via HDMI, as well as a Nintendo Wii with just the standard audio/video wires.

For sound, I am at a total loss. WIth my budget, I am figuring I'm stuck with an alll in one box unit.

Not quite sure on the dimensions on the room, but my key problem is there is no rear wall. Well, there is, but it's quite far as it is one of those that opens to the kitchen/dining area.

The wife has stated that I can not have wires running all over (or even in the walls) so I am stuck with 3 options as far as I can tell:

Sound bar & Sub
2 speakers and sub
or wireless rear speakers.

I certainly don't expect the greastest quality, considering my budget and room layout, but I do want the best for my money.

I understand that I won't get true surround sound out of either of the first 2 options. My concern is that I won't even get the simulated effect with not having the rear wall.

So, I figured wireless rear would be he way to go, but now I am learning that wireless isn't so wireless.

Not really sure what to do now.

As far as connections, I think I can run all sources into the tv, and then send the audio out via the optical audio output, assuming the reciever has that input.

So, what do you reccomend? Am I way off base here?
Any suggestions welcome, but please keep in mind my budget and room layout are not flexible.

Al.Anderson