What's new

Newbie here and a question! (1 Viewer)

Real Name
Tony Novacek
This is my first post here, so hello everyone!
You guys will probably think I have a "low end" home theater but I am only 16 and don't have a job yet, so its good enough for me :). I didn't have much of a choice with some of my equipment either. So here is what I got:
- RCA RT2500 - I gave my grandmother $250 to add toward a home theater for my Christmas gift and this is what she got me. I actually think this is pretty good for how cheap it was. I'm happy with it.Link Removed
- Panasonic PV 966h VCR - Birthday Gift
- RCA DVD Player
- PS2 - also use this to listen to music until I get a CD Player.
- Sylvania 27" TV - I'm going to upgrade this one day when I get some money :).
- I upgraded me L/R Front speakers with a pair of MTX AAL212 speakers.
MTX AAL212 Speakers
Then I moved the original front RCA 2 way speakers to the the rear because the original rear surrounds didn't have any tweaters.
After I upgraded my speakers I noticed a big difference in sound and I love it! There is a problem though. How come only certain parts of my room have good bass? I figure that with 4 12" woofers and the original subwoofer, the whole room should be filled with pounding bass. Only a couple of spots sound real good (like the corners of the room). Could any one tell me why it is like this?
Is it possible to put one 12" MTX car sub in each of the speakers for more and clearer bass? Would it sound any better? Would it even work at all?
Another thing, my reciever puts out 100x2 in stereo mode. My speakers handle 300 rms & 600 total at 8 ohms. How come I can only turn my reciever up to about 35 out of 70 before it starts to sound bad while listening to music? I thought I'd be able to turn it up all the way since my new spaekers handle 300 watts rms and 600 total.
Thanks for any help, sorry so long too!

Neil Joseph

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Neil Joseph
Welcome to the forum Tony.