What's new

Need help with speakers for Plasma TV (1 Viewer)

LindaJ

Auditioning
Real Name
Linda
I am completely new to home theaters. I am considering purchasing a 50" Samsung Plasma TV for my living room (16 x 18). The TV will sit in a corner on a corner TV cabinet, and I need suggestions for a good home theater system. And I don't want wires and cables going all over the floor. Help!

Robert_J

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Robert
The biggest question is budget? Do you want an all-in-one system or a quality A/V receiver and speakers? DVD? Blu-Ray? Internet streaming? What is your TV Source? Are you willing to perform or hire someone to perform minor construction to hide wires?

LindaJ

Auditioning
Real Name
Linda
I am willing to pay about $500.00. I would like a Blu-Ray, but I can add that later. I just want quality audio, since it seems that flat panel TVs are lacking that--based on what I've read. The Internet streaming is exciting, but it is not a necessity. I would have to hire someone to hide wires. Is there a wireless system out there? I don't understand your question about TV source. Thank you.

Joseph DeMartino

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Joseph DeMartino
I don't understand your question about TV source.

Do you have cable, satellite, or an over-the-air antenna? Is the cable or satellite box also a digital video recorder? I assume you will be upgrading to your provider's hi-def service. It would help if you could get the make and model number of the HD set-top-box that you'll be using with the new service. Do you currently have a DVD player?