What's new

Need help ..new to the Home Theater show (1 Viewer)

natestarsfan

Agent
Real Name
Nathan
Hello all..I'm a newbie to the whole Home Theater game and I had a couple questions...
First of all...I had a HTIB and am making the jump to a real system...I just purchased a Denon AVR-791 7.1 receiver..The speakers that I have currently are from a Panasonic 7.1 Sc-BT300 system....They are small satellites that read 3 ohm..I've been researching this matter and are getting mixed opinions....How important is the impedance? The Denon states its rated for 6-16 ohm.....Will these pannys damage my unit? Can they work at lower volumes? and when replaced...should I go with 6ohm or 8ohm.....I am looking at the Pioneer Andrew Jones model speakers they state that they are 6ohm at only 90 watts .. The Denon says its pushing 125 watts at 6 ohms.....Needing some major input on this....I have the receiver and sub (Velodyne VRP-1200) that I want...just need to build around it....Looking to not break the bank either.....what is your input?
Thanks!

schan1269

HTF Expert
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Sam
Ok...the "real deal"...

Ignore power ratings. There are only two specs, on speakers, you care about(technically 3...but the third is of less concequence than the first two)

1. Impedance.
2. Efficiency.

The third is overall frequency range...and typically, the bass end. But that is mitigated by the .1 anyway.

Now, to your situation.

Your Panny 3ohm HTiB speakers won't handle the power* the 791 has. They are based on a meaningless PMPO standard of(I'm going to guess) 1000watts total. IF this 791 were based the same way as that HTiB these speakers are from...it would probably have 10,000 watts.

If, because of "funds" you can't replace all the speakers at once...buy two of the Pio-AJ now and, for a while, you can use the center and surrounds from the HTiB. Just be forewarned...the HTiB speakers will not last long.