What's new

Need help deciding what to get for upgrading home theater system (1 Viewer)

Real Name
Dylan
Hi all, I'm new to this forums so please pardon anything I may have done wrong in making this thread.

For Christmas, I plan on upgrading my dad's home theater system. It currently consists of a KLH sub in a ported box, altec lansing front & rear left & right speakers, and a JBL center channel that looks like this -

I would guess that the center channel is pretty good since I know JBL is pretty reputable, but I know that all the others are crap. I want to find my dad a system for under $200. I have a lot of experience with car audio, but none with home audio. I currently have a few boxes for home theater subs, they are 10" cube boxes with a downfiring port. I don't know what the best route to take would be...buy a home-specific sub in a box, or buy a nice 10" car sub and plop it in that home theater box. Next up is the other speakers...I want to get speakers from high end brands like Klipsch or Bose, but I don't know exactly what to get. There are plenty of speakers on craigslist, but I would rather hear what you guys would get under a $200 budget (that includes the price of the sub). I would prefer to get small-ish speakers in order to fit them in their current ledge placement, but what I really want is the best bang-for-buck system. In other words, my first objective is quality on a budget, second is size. I'm pretty set on buying from craigslist, so if you guys could start here - http://portland.craigslist.org/search/ele?query=&catAbbreviation=ele&minAsk=min&maxAsk=225 and poke around, I would appreciate it.

Let me know if I need to fill in some blanks, like what sizes the ledges are, where they are placed, etc. I can take pics of the room if necessary.

Thanks for any help!

-Dylan

gene c

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Gene
Eliminate Bose from your list. Do a search of this, or any forum, to see why.