What's new

My plasma monitor purchase (1 Viewer)

carl_lunenfeld

Auditioning
Hi everyone,

I just joined the forum last night. And it seems like just the place I need.

I've been doing research for my plasma monitor for about 9 months now. What I've learned is that everyone seems to say about the same things.

I've been interested in the 50 inch Pioneer lately. I'm attracted to the "media receiver" that is wrapped in the package. Do I need a "media receiver" with a plasma. I'm guessing I probably do because my viewing will most likely be through cable or DVD for the time being.

Another important question I have is regarding internet retailers. Is there a rating anywhere of the different sites. I'm most concerned with trust. I'm pretty worried about spending $10,000 at a web operation. But saving $5,000 dollars sounds to good to be true.

What kind of experiences have people had making expensive purchase online. For example plasmacity.com or tvauthority.com.

Thanks for your help.

Carl

Marshall Sander

Stunt Coordinator
My friend bought a plasma set at homenext.com -- good prices and no problems. I think they carry the Pioneer.

Jim FC

Stunt Coordinator
Pioneer does not authorize internet sales, so buy at your own risk... it is within Pioneer's rights to decline to support you or to honor their manufacturer's warranty if they learn you purchased through an unauthorized dealer. As they say, if something sounds too good to be true, it probably is. I personally would never buy anything that major through a web site... there's absolutely no guarantee you'll get what you paid for, and zero certainty they'll be around to help you if something goes wrong.