What's new

My girlfriend's Jane-6Pack friend (1 Viewer)

My girlfriend's friend visits us once a week to watch dvds. Last night she brought with her "Gone in 60 Seconds", VHS! It was horrible (not the film) I kept on wondering what was missing from the picture and could even pick out some scanning. DPL2 made the sound tolerable but man did it suck. I talked to my girlfriend about it and she said as long as she sees the movie she doesn't care if it's on tape or dvd! Drives me crazy. Well,sorry for the rant.

BTY: This is my 1st post ever and I've been visiting since 1998.

Please support HTF by using one of these affiliate links when considering a purchase.

Tony_Faville

Supporting Actor
I know the feeling....my wife and I were visiting friends a couple weeks back and we watched Shrek on VHS. Had a headache a few minutes into it from all the shimmering that nobody else saw.
Guess I'm a true DVD snob because it made me sick watching VHS. ;)

Malcolm R

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Malcolm
I ran into a Jane6P at Costco this weekend. We were both browsing the DVD's and she asked if I knew of any easy way to identify which discs were full screen. I didn't have the time to get into a full OAR debate so I just told her that you have to check the packages carefully and that I was "in the same boat because I only buy widescreen and constantly have to check the package to make sure I'm not getting the chopped up version." She just shot me this look that said she'd been reprimanded about OAR before. I walked away before I bust out laughing. :)

Patrick McCart

Premium
Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Patrick McCart
I thankfully saw Shrek on home video first in the form of the 1.78:1 anamorphic widescreen transfer on the 2-disc DVD.
In the video production class I'm taking, we watched Shrek (on VHS...sigh) to look for camera techniques.