What's new

Me first home theater system (1 Viewer)

borisbastos

Auditioning
Real Name
bart
hi,
i've been looking around on the internet to gather info about what we should need best for our home theater system.
There's so much info out there that for a complete beginner like me, i can't seem to find a clear path through the forest!
so excuse me if i post this thread which may seem a question asked too many times.
what we want is a system where:
-we can watch shows and movies from my computer on the TV
-we do not have a pc running all the time to be streaming shows to the tv
-we thus have a htpc onto which we can store movies, shows and music
-we can listen to music from my computer on a hifisystem (receiver and speakers still to be bought)
-we do not necessarily have to turn on the tv to access that music
-we can use our tablet as a remote to control the htpc
It took me a while to figure out what exactly we wanted, now i need to find out which components work best for us.
Basically, i think what i need is (and i haven't bought any of them yet!)
- receiver (sony str-hd520)
- speakers (sony ss-fcr6000)
- htpc (?)
- TV (led, lcd or plasma)
- DVD-player (?)
Budget: approx. 1000€ or 1300$
Is there a good system out there, that is a htpc with hard disk as well as a dvd or blu-ray-player combined into one.?
My girlfriend hates the way you need a remote for every single component so i would really like to narrow it down as simple as possible.
In the end, what we'd like to do is use our tablet as a remote. How does that work, using an app?
By the way, is it better to buy the same brand for every component? I kind of like Sony, don't know why, but have always been satisfied with it.
One last question, is it wise to buy a smart tv where a media center is already available? Within my budget i'd really like to look for quality first. I'm a bit wary about TV's as the TV-market is fighting price wars right now.
So i've said it! Thanks for reading, hope you can help!
B