What's new

HT planning (1 Viewer)

Dennis:-)J

Auditioning
I am new to home theater and I am planning to equip a home AV area. I have a 8'X 16' area that I can use in my condo for a HT. The ceiling height is 9'. I have budgeted $15,000 dollars for the project. I would like to reuse my Sony STR-DE925Receiver (5-1), Bose 5-1 speakers 10 Series II, and a Sony Progressive DVD DVP-NS715P. The area will be used exclusively for HT. My questions are:
1. What type of video is recommended?
2. Should I keep my sound system?
3. Should I keep the DVD player?
Dennis

SimiA

Second Unit
Wow, that's a nice budget.
You have quite a few options.
RP DLP, RP LCD, Plasma, FP, etc..
I'm partial to Plasma and Front Projection.
A 50-55" HD Plasma would be great from either Panasonic or Fujitsu. They are the gold standards.
If you have good light control, a Front projection system would be awesome. You could have up to a 102", 16x9 screen.
NEC, Infocus, BenQ, are a few to look at.
I have a 100" screen, and sit 13 ft away, and I feel totally immersed in the movie.
Make sure you go and audition any of these units, and take lots of notes. Such as Color rendition, 3D look, black levels, clarity of the picture from different video sources. (DVD, HD & SD TV signals.
Ultimately though, it all comes down to what you like for PQ for the intended use, as well as how much you like your current audio system.
I'm sure you're going to get more suggestions.
I hope this was a good start.
Vb

Auditioning
vb
Thanks for the quick reply. I have viewed the FP Infocus and was very impressed but I am concerned about reliablity - bulbs, dust, adjustment. Am I just being paranoid. If I get a RP I was hoping to get something that was 60" or better and a large plasma would just about break the budget

Jack Briggs

Senior HTF Member
Since you're asking for specific equipment-purchase advice for a complete system, I've moved your thread from the Basics area to here.

Rob Kramer

Second Unit