What's new

How about some newer artists for SACD/DVD Audio?? (1 Viewer)

Chris Tedesco

Second Unit
Real Name
Chris
I've been listening to SACD/DVD Audio for only a few months now and am highly pleased with it. But it wasn't until Beck's Sea Change that I really was blown away by it. Don't get me wrong, I'm into the classics and think Pink Floyd's Dark Side of the Moon is awesome!

But I'm seeing a trend here where it looks like most titles are from the 60's 70's era. I would really like to see some more modern artists embrace the new technology.

I also see that DVD-Audio titles are slowly starting to throw out some newer artist, but really still none to my liking. How about getting these to the plate?

Radiohead
More Beck
Massive Attack
Tool
Doves
Coldplay

Just naming a few, anyone else have any they'd like to add?

Paul_Ptaaty

Stunt Coordinator
A Perfect Circle would be nice....

I could think of hundreds I'd LIKE.

I can't find the Outkast DVD-A for the life of me at a B&M store, they better move and start promoting the format with new artists or it is guarenteed a slow death.

Robert A. Willis Jr.

Second Unit
How do you sell higher priced Hi-Res to someone that thinks MP3 is perfectly fine? Put Hi-Res tracks on all of these music DVD videos that are starting to proliferate? Perhaps, but most people that purchase the videos think the Dolby or DTS tracks are awesome.

Chris and Paul assuming that you are relatively young, what do think is a solution?

Chris Tedesco

Second Unit
Real Name
Chris
Hey Robert, very good question. I'm 33 so my young years are fading fast. But it's true that a 16 year old might not care as much for Multi channel surround as I do. They might not have the set up for it at home perhaps. Plus as you said, MP3's!, plus their most likely free!