What's new

Help setting up outside TV/reciever run off of inside cable box (1 Viewer)

BBradshaw

Auditioning
Real Name
Beau
I'm new to all of this so bear with me, I'll do my best to explain my situation.

I recently mounted a TV outside in my BBQ area. Rather than purchasing an additional cable box, I have it hooked up to my inside cable box using an IR sensor. The inside TV is connected to the box via HDMI. A long set of red, blue, green component cables are connected to the same cable box and are run under my raised house to my outside TV.

I am now looking to install outdoor speakers and cd player and hook them up to a receiver that I plan on keeping in a cabinet outside by the outdoor TV. How would I go about hooking the outside TV up to the receiver as well and use my mounted speakers to watch cable on the outdoor TV from the cable box that I am using inside?

-Do I run an optical wire from my indoor cable box under my house, plug it into my outdoor receiver then plug my tv into the receiver?

-Do I even need to connect the cable box to the receiver at all? Is there a way to go straight from the receiver to the tv?

-If even possible, will hooking my indoor cable box up to my outdoor receiver cause any issues when I try to watch TV inside? I mean when I watch cable on the TV that is hooked up to the box inside my house will I have sound or will the sound only be on my outside speakers now?