What's new

Denon 1600 ownere - any complaints? (1 Viewer)

John Garcia

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
John
I am looking for a new DVD player right now, and since the RP-82 is not available (though I have found XP-30s locally) I am considering the 1600 based on the Secrets of HT shootout. Just curious to hear from actual owners if there are any idiosyncrasies I might want to know about?

EricN

Stunt Coordinator
Real Name
Eric
My only complaint is I wish it had a back-lit remote. It is a fine piece of hardware and I have been enjoying it now for about 6 months. DVD-A is also very fine :emoji_thumbsup:

John Garcia

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
John
I won't use the remote that comes with the unit, once it is programmed into my system remote, so that's not a big deal. :D Thanks.

Ken Custodio

Second Unit
The thing I hate most about the Denon 1600 is that you can't turn off the LED display on the front of the Unit, you can dim the display but not turn off. I like to turn off all the displays on my equipment while watching movies.

DanaA

Screenwriter
Like the picture and sound. The remote isn't that great, but you won't be using it. Wish it did some of the little things such as giving the time remaining on a disc or that it had some sort of zoom feature like the Toshibas, but the good outweighs the inconveniences here.

Jason Pugh

Agent