What's new

Bought a house with speaker wiring already in place....need help! (1 Viewer)

oslkirvaetrs

Auditioning
Real Name
Oliver
First off, I apologize - I have NO knowledge when it comes to home theater setup, other than the basic idea that I need to get a tuner and some surround speakers.

We moved into a house this year, and the previous owner had the living room wired up for sound. There are four spots with faceplates a few feet high on the wall that look like the attached photo, and then there's some loose speaker wiring behind where we hooked up the TV.

Right now, we literally just use our Vizio Smart TV with nothing attached to it (other than a cable box and Blu-Ray player). I'd like to add a tuner and speakers at an affordable price. But the recommendation of brands, etc. is less important to me right now than getting a clearer picture of what is actually possible.

I want a setup that will work with the current TV, but also with a 4K when we buy one soon (if that even matters for this).

What do I need to do in order to determine:

1) What type of tuner is OK to buy? Any reason why the one below, or something similar, wouldn't work?

Yamaha tuner

2) What type of speakers are OK to buy? Does the example below seem OK?

Yamaha speakers

3) Any special considerations for hooking all this up? Again, I don't know anything about this, so any advice is greatly appreciated!

Thank you.

Attachments

• 1212160120a-1-1.jpg
    1212160120a-1-1.jpg
    60.3 KB · Views: 110

Al.Anderson

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Al
Those are basic speaker connections (and that's good for a quick setup; no external volume controls or such to worry about). Where do the other ends come out?

That Yamaha is fine, but a season or two old. Nothing wrong with that, but it should be cheaper (it's $350 on Amazon).